JSAP-OSA Joint Symposia

All presentations in the joint symposia must be in English.
All the speakers must be a member of either JSAP, OSA, OSJ or JSAP’s partner societies*.

The special issue of this symposium will be published from a OSA publishing journal, OSA Continuum.

A student speaker who made an exceptional presentation will be given a best student paper/presentation prize of 150 USD and a 3-year OSA student membership.
The winner will also be offered to publish an invited paper in the special issue of the OSA Continuum.

(*) JSAP’s Partner Societies: APS(American Physical Society), CSOE(Chinese Society for Optical Engineering), EOS(European Optical Society), EPS(European Physical Society), IOP(Institute of Physics), KPS(Korean Physical Society), OSA(The Optical Society), OSJ (The Optical Society of Japan), OSK(Optical Society of Korea), PESJ(Physics Education Society of Japan), PSROC(The Physical Society of Republic of China), Physics Society of the Philippines(SPP), SPIE(International Society for Optical Engineering ), TPS(Taiwan Photonics Society)


Section No. Session Name
4.1 Plasmonics and Nanophotonics
Invited Speakers: Saulius Juodkazis (Swinburne University), Shunsuke Murai (Kyoto University), Jwa-Min Nam (Seoul National University), Shyama Rath (University of Delhi), Junsuk Rho (POSTECH)
4.2 Photonics Devices, Photonic Integrated Circuit and Silicon Photonics
Invited Speakers: Constance Chang-Hasnain (UC Berkeley), Yohei Sobu (Fujitsu)
4.3 Lasers and laser materials processing
Invited Speakers: Hirofumi Hidai (Chiba University), Yasutomo Ota (Keio University), William Renninger (University of Rochester), Collin Sones (University of Southampton)
4.4 Information Photonics
Invited Speakers: Xiangyu Quan (Kobe University),  Guohai Situ (Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics), Satoshi Sunada (Kanazawa University), Yasuhiro Takaki (Tokyo University of Agriculture and Technology)
4.5 Nanocarbon and 2D Materials
Invited Speakers: Ji-Hee Kim (Sungkyunkwan University), Natsumi Komatsu (Rice University), Ethan Minot (Oregon State University), Hisato Yamaguchi (Los Alamos National Laboratory)
4.6 Terahertz Photonics
Invited Speakers: Elmer Estacio (University of the Philippines Diliman), Nathaniel Hermosa (University of the Philippines Diliman), Kosuke Murate (Nagoya University), Masahiko Tani (University of Fukui)
4.7 Quantum Optics and Nonlinear Optics
Invited Speakers: Ravi Bhardwaj (University of Ottawa), Tim Byrnes (New York University Shanghai), Rafal Janik (Xanadu), Dong-Il Yeom (Ajou University)

Past Program

[ 2020 ][ 2019 ][ 2018 ] [ 2017 ] [ 2016 ] [ 2015 ] [ 2014 ] [ 2013 ] [ 2012 ]

Submission Deadline: June 22 (Tue.), 2021 (5:00pm, JST)
*No submission, revision, replacement of abstracts nor withdrawal are accepted after the deadline.

The abstract submission has now been closed.


If you need our invitation letter for the VISA application to attend the meeting, please fill out the form below and send it to JSAP-OSA Joint Symposia Secretariat().
Please note we can issue the invitation letter only for the speakers.


VISA Request Form (Word)

In cooperation with  Photonics Division of The Japan Society of Applied Physics,

                                    The Takano Eiichi Optical Science Funds