JSAP-Optica-SPP Joint Symposia

All presentations in the joint symposia must be in English.
All the speakers must be a member of either JSAP, Optica, SPP, OSJ or JSAP’s partner societies*.

The special issue of this symposium will be published from a Optica publishing journal, Optics Continuum.

(*) JSAP’s Partner Societies: APS(American Physical Society), CSOE(Chinese Society for Optical Engineering), EOS(European Optical Society), EPS(European Physical Society), IOP(Institute of Physics), KPS(Korean Physical Society), OPTICA (formerly OSA)”, OSJ (The Optical Society of Japan), OSK(Optical Society of Korea), PESJ(Physics Education Society of Japan), PSROC(The Physical Society of Republic of China), Physics Society of the Philippines(SPP), SPIE(International Society for Optical Engineering ), TPS(Taiwan Photonics Society)



Section No. Session Name
  Optica Special Lectures
Invited Speakers: Satoshi Kawata (Optica President, Founder and Chiarman of Nanophoton, ), Gerd Leuchs (Optica Vice President, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light in Erlangen )
4.1 Plasmonics and Nanophotonics
Invited Speakers: Takashi Kumagai (Institute for Molecular Science, Japan), Yasuaki Kumamoto (Osaka University, Japan), Yu-Jung Lu (Academia Sinica, Taiwan), Hiroshi Ujii (Hokkaido University, Japan)
4.2 Photonics Devices, Photonic Integrated Circuit and Silicon Photonics
Invited Speakers: Ranjan Singh (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore), Hiroshi Yasaka (Tohoku University, Japan)
4.3 Lasers and laser materials processing
Invited Speakers: Francois Courvoisier (University of Franche-Comte, France), Keiichi Nakagawa (The University of Tokyo, Japan), Johan Nilsson ( Southampton University, UK),Takunori Taira (RIKEN, Japan)
4.4 Information Photonics
Invited Speakers: Wonshik Choi (Korea University, Korea), Yuichi Kozawa (Tohoku University, Japan), Naru Yoneda (Kobe University, Japan), Wen Qiao (Soochow University, China)
4.5 Nanocarbon and 2D Materials
Invited Speakers: Il Jeon(Sungkyunkwan University, Korea), Ryo Kitaura (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan), Daichi Kozawa (RIKEN, Japan), Xuedan Ma (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
4.6 Terahertz Photonics
Invited Speakers: Elbert Chia (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore), DaiSik Kim (Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Korea), Chiko Otani (RIKEN, Japan), Keiichiro Shiraga (Kyoto University, Japan)
4.7 Quantum Optics and Nonlinear Optics
Invited Speakers: Yung-Fu Chen (National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan), Nobuyuki Matsuda (Tohoku University, Japan), Ryuji Morita (Hokkaido Univ., Japan), Andrew Shields (Toshiba Europe Ltd, Cambridge, UK)

Past Program

[ 2021 ][ 2020 ][ 2019 ][ 2018 ] [ 2017 ] [ 2016 ] [ 2015 ] [ 2014 ] [ 2013 ] [ 2012 ]

Submission Deadline: June 21 (Tue.), 2022 (5:00pm, JST)
*No submission, revision, replacement of abstracts nor withdrawal are accepted after the deadline.


The submission is now closed.

Travel Award

Student speakers from abroad who will present at the JSAP-Optica-SPP Joint Symposia 2022 are invited to apply for a travel award.
The purpose of the awards is to encourage greater participation from abroad and to make our symposia diverse and vibrant. The awardees will be selected by the meeting chairs.
Travel awards will be distributed as reimbursements upon submission of receipts.

Application Deadline:June 22 (Wed.), 2022

The travel award application is now closed.


In cooperation with  Photonics Division of The Japan Society of Applied Physics